The 2016 QSPA Golf Day for The Shaun Mason Trophy took place on Friday 1st July at Upton Golf Club in Chester. Once again Neil McBurney had got a cracking gang together to take part – 33 in all, including Mrs Clark. The tournament has a history of mixed fortunes weather-wise and indeed the weather was as mixed as much of the golf played. Waterproofs were on and off with irritating regularity, but enthusiasm was never dampened.

Three prizes are competed for: the Longest Drive, Nearest the Pin and, of course, The Shaun Mason Trophy. Matt Freeman, playing off a dubious 24 handicap (that’s a compliment, Matt!) lashed the longest drive, whilst the more elegant Simon Rodenhurst, who plays off 10, claimed Nearest the Pin. To be fair, in difficult conditions, Simon posted a fantastic score of 38 Stableford Points, which would win our competition most years. But not this!

Your correspondent had some insider information about this year’s winner. Word had arrived at the course that future Year 7 parent (and competitor next year, so look out), David Tilley, a member of Delamere Forest and playing off 5, had given some expert tips to a friend of his. This practice and tips had clearly worked a treat and it was with great delight (on a count back, after level scores of 38), that the audience whooped, cheered and clapped as Sarah Roberts was announced as the winner. 

Many will appreciate the synchronistic poignancy of the win and Alexis Mason, once again this year, spoke eloquently and emotionally, as she presented the trophy named in Shaun’s honour, who we all remember so fondly. And so thoughts now turn to next year’s event….. Will Sarah defend her trophy, better than some fellow did this year?! Or will our winner come from this year’s chasing pack that included: David Bright, Nick Canning, Rob ‘Mr’ Jarvis, Jonathan Cowdell, Neil McBurney, Simon Kay or Stephen Edwards, all of whom posted scores of over 30.

Final thanks must to go to Mr and Mrs McBurney – Neil and Jane, who organise the event with such fun and efficiency. We will all cheer to the rafters when one of them (preferably Jane!) wins the trophy themselves. A great day followed by a fabulous curry at the Chester Tandoori, with splendid banter and comradery. 

Here’s to next year……

Mark Fearnall
2015 Winner of The Shaun Mason Trophy

Post date: 7th July 2016